Maryland 2012

by melissajeandesign

Fantastic…once again.  The Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival in West Friendship, Maryland takes place on the first full week-end in May and has done so for the past 39 years.  I have been lucky enough to have participated for the last 5….wow, 5  years! Getting ready for the show was no less frenzied than in years past and this year I decided to leave my husband and camper at home and take fellow knitter Kristen along. You can see her here helping customers choose buttons.  What a FANTASTIC  booth mate she is.

This year I brought a few new designs; a pretty lattice button, small shank buttons, and a new square flower button were among them.

As busy as our booth gets, I do try to sneak out to see what’s new, shop,  and say hello to fellow vendors. While walking around Friday afternoon, I came upon Fiber Optics and nearly got whiplash.  Creator/dyer Kimber Baldwin is a chemist by trade and uses her knowledge of chemistry to help achieve a super saturated fiber, really stunning.  I will definitely use her fibers in the future.  In fact, watch my blog for upcoming news about Fiber Optics!  She also had a stunning display of shawls:

As a bonus, I was able to spend time with  Julia Hilbrandt who makes FABULOUS felt bags. We displayed one of her bags in my booth on Sunday, shown here with a new pattern (Dublin Tee).  Also shown on the dress form is a necklace by Laura Nelkin.  We sold her kits at the festival and again, they were hugely popular!

We all had fun on Cinco de Mayo at a beautiful restaurant called Azul 17 where they serve the BEST mojito and have a separate menu for tequila! Just look at Kristen’s lamb dinner (yes, she finished it!)

Sunday afternoon I went to visit my old tent neighbors, Larry and Kristina of Peavine Hollow Farm.  They Raise and sell Angora goats and Maremma Livestock Guardian Dogs.  The Angora fiber from their goats is just gorgeous!

By the end of the week-end we were exhausted, but uplifted by our many wonderful customers.  Thank you all so much! I am already looking forward to next year!

