An Excursion Close to Home

by melissajeandesign

I am fortunate in that I live out in the “country”, as you can see by the view out my front yard. Here are the kids coming home on the last day of school:

Image

Yet, one of the best quilting/fabric stores in the country, Patchwork Plus is within walking distance of my house.  So when they had their 25th Anniversary sale I had to hop on my bike and get in line by 6:30am to get in on the deals to be had!

Image

I enlisted my friend Kristen to help me scope out the shop the day before, and we planned our purchases carefully, writing lists and making sketches at a diner next door. We found lovely 1940’s prints, to be used as girl’s skirt bottoms sewn onto knitted tops, wool felt for a brand new booth sign,and  a great apron pattern and fabric to make and then wear in my booth.

Image

Now it’s time to get to work!  Come visit me at my next show or festival to see how we utilized our purchases!

