Yogurt: the Beginning of a Summer of “Making”

by melissajeandesign

This summer we are going to make things at home that we would normally buy in a shop. This is extremely exciting for me, as I have always been a maker…just ask my mom what I used to do with my diaper. This week we made yogurt!  We started with the most amazing yogurt I have  tasted from North Country Creamery, it’s gorgeous stuff!  You can use live cultures as well which can be purchased online, but we just used high quality yogurt.

 

North Country Creamery yogurt was used as a starter.

North Country Creamery yogurt was used as a starter.

I put the starter yogurt on the bottom of a clean 1/2 gallon jar, about 1 cup per 1/2 gallon of milk.

use about 1 cup starter yogurt per 1/2 gallon of milk.

use about 1 cup starter yogurt per 1/2 gallon of milk.

Earlier that day I had purchased raw milk from Greyrock Farm in Cazenovia, NY. (Really quite an impressive farm, more to come from them this summer). Their cows are Brown Swiss and I noticed that their milk is a little smoother and sweeter than the raw Holstein milk we were getting.  I heated the milk to about 180 degrees F, then let it cool down to 110 degrees F. We strained out the cooked bits (oops, got a little hotter than intended). A slightly messy job despite the many helping hands.

heated milk from Greyrock Farm's Brown Swiss beauties!

heated milk from Greyrock Farm’s Brown Swiss beauties!

Next, I placed a cloth secured with a rubberband over the jar and wrapped it in a heating blanket.  Using a thermometer, I checked in on the yogurt a few times to make sure it was maintaining the 110 degree temp. It stayed nice and warm for about 10 hours….you can keep it going for a shorter time, and even a longer time…but at this point my yogurt was nice and thick so I let it cool a bit before placing it in the fridge.   The next morning I scooped out a nice bowlful and drizzled it with some local honey! YUM! Creamy and smooth.

This yogurt was very creamy and naturally sweet, did not really need the honey!

This yogurt was very creamy and naturally sweet, did not really need the honey!

 

