A Museum of Makers

by melissajeandesign

This past Fourth of July my family and I traveled to Vermont as we often do to visit friends.  This time, however, I finally took the time to visit the Shelburne Museum, a really extraordinary place!

A hooked wool rug by Patty Yoder on diplsay in the Hat and Fragrance Textile Gallery.

A hooked wool rug by Patty Yoder on diplsay in the Hat and Fragrance Textile Gallery.

It is a museum of Americana, folk art, fine arts, and archetecture with most collections housed in historically important buildings that were moved to the park like grounds. I was so impressed with the collections I went back a second day (admission tickets are good for 2 days) because you cannot possibly see everything in one day.  As a maker and fiber person I especially enjoyed the Weaving Shop, Hat and Textile Gallery, and the Variety Unit. Here are glimpses of what I saw, but I urge you to make the trip to Shelburne Vermont yourself!

Some of the items on display in the Weaving Shop.

Some of the items on display in the Weaving Shop and Settler’s House. I have never seen flax growing, it is so beautiful. And I learned that making cloth was very patriotic during colonial times. Next July 4th, break out those spinning wheels!

The doll collection was quite impressive.  Here is an example of one of the diaramas,  check out all those details! Miniature hat boxes, ribbon, bolts of fabric, spinning wheel, scissors, it’s a game of Eye Spy!

One of the many diaramas on diplay in the Variety Unit.

One of the many diaramas on diplay in the Variety Unit.

MelissaJeanhaberdashery

Look at the tiny buttons!

A beautiful scrimshaw swift made from whale ivory and bone, wood and a walrus tusk.

A beautiful scrimshaw swift made from whale ivory and bone, wood and a walrus tusk.

 I also really appreciate the vision of Electra Havemeyer Webb, the museum founder and whose collections are the core of the museum.  Without her love of handmade things from times past we would not be able to enjoy and marvel at the beautiful things our ancestors made. The Shelburne Museum is a very inspiring place. It supercharged me to get making!

